Jun 17, 2024  
2012-2013 Gainesville State College Catalog 
2012-2013 Gainesville State College Catalog [Archived Catalog]

University System of Georgia

Click on any of the following links for information:

The University System of Georgia includes all state-operated institutions of higher education in Georgia - four research universities, two regional universities, 13 state universities, fourteen state colleges, and two two-year colleges. These 35 public institutions are located throughout the state.

An 18-member constitutional Board of Regents governs the University System; which has been in operation since 1931. Appointments of Board members are made by the Governor, subject of confirmation by the State Senate. The term of Board members is seven years.

The Chairperson, the Vice Chairperson, and other officers of the Board are elected by the members of the Board. The Board elects a Chancellor who serves as its chief executive officer and the chief administrative officer of the University System.

The overall programs and services of the University System are offered through three major components: Instruction, Public Service/Continuing Education, and Research.

INSTRUCTION consists of programs of study leading toward degrees, ranging from the associate (two-year) level to the doctoral level, and certificates.

Requirements for admission of students to instructional programs at each institution are determined, pursuant to policies of the Board of Regents, by the institution. The Board establishes minimum academic standards and leaves to each institution the prerogative to establish higher standards. Application for admission should be addressed, in all cases, to the institutions.

PUBLIC SERVICE/CONTINUING EDUCATION consists primarily of non-degree activities and special types of college-degree-credit courses.

The non-degree activities are of several types, including short courses, seminars, conferences, lectures, and consultative and advisory services, in a large number of areas of interest.

Typical college-degree-credit public service/continuing education courses are those offered through extension center programs and teacher education consortia.

RESEARCH encompasses investigations conducted primarily for discovery and application of knowledge. These investigations cover matters related to the educational objectives of the institutions and to general societal needs.

Most of the research is conducted through the universities; however, some of it is conducted through several of the state universities.

The policies of the Board of Regents provide autonomy of high degree for each institution. The executive head of each institution is the President, whose election is recommended by the Chancellor and approved by the Board.

State appropriations for the University System are requested by, made to, and allocated by the Board of Regents. Matriculation and nonresidential tuition fees for all institutions are set by the Board. All resident students pay matriculation fees; out-of-state students pay nonresident tuition in addition to matriculation. Fees for student services and activities are established by each institution, subject to the Board’s approval.

Board of Regents


Benjamin J. Tarbutton, Sandersville, Chair
William “Dink” NeSmith, Jr., Athens, Vice Chair

Kenneth R. Bernard, Jr., Douglasville
Larry R. Ellis, Atlanta
Rutledge Griffin, Jr., Valdosta
Robert F. Hatcher, Macon
Thomas Hopkins, Jr., MD., Griffin
W. Mansfield Jennings, Jr., Hawkinsville
James R. Jolly, Dalton
Donald M. Leebern, Jr., McDonough
Doreen Stiles Poitevint, Bainbridge
Willis J. Potts, Rome
Neil L. Pruitt, Jr., Norcross
Wanda Yancey Rodwell, Stone Mountain
Kessel Stelling, Jr., Columbus
Richard L. Tucker, Lawrenceville
Larry Walker, Perry
Philip Wilheit, Sr., Gainesville


Mr. Henry “Hank” M. Huckaby, Chancellor
Dr. Rob Watts, Chief Operating Officer
Mr. John Fuchko, III, Chief Audit Officer & Associate Vice Chancellor - Internal Audit
Ms. Linda M. Daniels, Vice Chancellor, Facilities
Ms. Usha Ramachandran, Vice Chancellor, Office of Fiscal Affairs
Dr. David Morgan, Interim Chief Academic Officer & Executive Vice Chancellor, Office of Academic Affairs
Dr. Felita Williams, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Academic Planning and Programs
Dr. Susan Campbell Lounsbury, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Strategic Policy Analysis
Dr. Curt Carver, Vice Chancellor, Chief Information Officer
Mr. Tom Daniel, Senior Vice Chancellor, Office of External Affairs 

Institutions of the University System of Georgia


Research Universities

Georgia Health Science University   Augusta
Georgia Institute of Technology   Atlanta
Georgia State University   Atlanta
The University of Georgia   Athens

Regional Universities

Georgia Southern University   Statesboro
Valdosta State University   Valdosta

State Universities

Albany State University   Albany
Armstrong Atlantic State University   Savannah
Augusta State University   Augusta
Clayton State University   Morrow
Columbus State University   Columbus
Fort Valley State University   Fort Valley
Georgia College and State University   Milledgeville
Georgia Southwestern State University   Americus
Kennesaw State University   Kennesaw
North Georgia College and State University   Dahlonega
Savannah State University   Savannah
Southern Polytechnic State University   Marietta
University of West Georgia   Carrollton

State Colleges

Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College   Tifton
Atlanta Metropolitan College   Atlanta
College of Coastal Georgia   Brunswick
Dalton State College   Dalton
Darton College   Albany  
East Georgia College   Swainsboro  
Gainesville State College   Gainesville  
Georgia Gwinnett College   Lawrenceville
Georgia Highlands College   Rome
Georgia Permeter College   Decatur
Gordon College   Barnesville
Macon State College   Macon
Middle Georgia College   Cochran
South Georgia College   Douglas

Two-Year Colleges

Bainbridge College   Bainbridge
Waycross College   Waycross

Research Unit

Skidaway Institute of Oceanography   Savannah


  ^ TOP